Alternative Baby Shower Proposal

When you have a baby (or in our case, are about to have a baby), people get you stuff, which is a really good thing if you don’t have the stuff you need to have a baby. Our friends, family, and my wife have been incredible at getting us the stuff we need to make sure our baby doesn’t feel bad about itself when it comes out and realizes that all the other babies have already begun their collection of stuff. Craig’s List and Freecycle.org are a boon to young couples who need to get stuff on the cheap.

So after getting a pretty serious head start on gathering appropriate things for the baby to suck on, things for the baby to lie on, and things for the baby to feel fashionable wearing, I am beginning to think that we just might have the stuff we need to create a habitat in which the baby could survive until it can find a job and buy its own stuff. So, what do we do with the thousands of dollars that are left on the retail table by people who still want to get us stuff?

Well, Jill and I thought it would be fun to have an online alternative baby shower. Instead of buying us more stuff, people could give a gift to God’s Kids in honor of our new arrival. I can’t think of a better way to begin life than to come out helping other people.

At this point, I’m just batting the idea around, wondering if anyone finds this idea of value. What do you think?

Your thoughts and comments are welcome.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

11 Responses to “Alternative Baby Shower Proposal”

  1. Mark, I great appreciate your comment. I also checked out your blog. Amazing.

    Yes, yes, yes, for the baby shower thing. Right on. I wish more folks would take your initiative. And what about Christmas. Americans are gluttonized, and drowing in “stuff” yet they want more. Meanwhile, foster kids, orphans get nothing or almost nothing.

    Hope you read my latest post about a baby being starved to death right here in Americ–in a hospital.

    blessings,
    Janey

  2. oooops, typed too fast. I meant “greatly appreciate”…

  3. I have a whole section in my parenting book about the type of values you’re sharing here and how we can teach them to our kids. Do we want to raise kids who are cocooned by their own selfishness? Or do we want them to see the needs in this lost and dying world where there are so many needy children? And if so, how can our kids help those kids? Those are some of the issues I address.

    blessings to you and your wife, Mark — & the precious baby.

    Janey L. DeMeo
    Founder-director of Orphans First – http://www.orphansfirst.org
    speaker, freelance writer, author – http://www.JaneyDeMeo.com
    http://janey-demeo.blogspot.com / http://www.myspace.com/orphansfirst
    http://www.myspace.com/janeydemeo
    author of Heaven Help Me Raise These Children!
    Biblical Direction for Practical Parenting Issues.

  4. jilldekkers Says:

    I’m a big fan of your idea! The thought of orphans getting even a small percentage of the wealth of what kids have in the U.S. is a mind-boggling thing. I still look forward to the day when I get to travel to Liberia with you…maybe even with our child!

  5. Hey Mark,
    I love your blog. I think the baby shower idea is great! We in society get too caught up in the “niceties” of life rather than the “neccesities.” We’d love to donate something in the honor of your baby. Not that you care, but some celebrities in Hollywood have started doing the same thing-they feel like they can afford the baby items themselves and would rather have the money spent on those truly in need. Great Idea! Hope that baby comes soon!

  6. Alright, that’s all the encouragement I need. We’re going to do it. I’ll keep you posted.

  7. […] bloggers to make this idea happen. If you have no Idea what I’m talking about, I wrote in a recent post about an idea that Jill (my wife) and I came up with while we were walking our dog. Here’s […]

  8. […] that $955 So more gifts have come in for the Alternative Baby Shower.  We’re very close to $1,000!  Thank you all for making this idea so […]

  9. hy, Do something to help those hungry people from Africa or India,
    I added this blog about them:
    on http://tinyurl.com/556poc

  10. there are many options for baby gifts, but i prefer to give them thsoe cute adorable stuff toys`.”

Leave a Reply

