Stupid Economy Cost Me My Job!

RecessionI’ve known for about a month that last Friday, Feb. 1 would be my last day at God’s Kids. Now I’m able to tell everyone publicly. To be honest, I think I was hoping that a big semi truck loaded with cash would miraculously pull up to the God’s Kids offices this month with a bewildered driver saying, “They just told me to drop it off here.”

But the truck didn’t come, and our little ministry for orphaned children is tightening it’s belt to weather this economic storm. We all knew this storm was coming. I even wrote about it in previous posts, But that doesn’t help much. I loved this job, and I’ll mourn losing it for a long time to come.

I think God’s Kids, like a lot of other ministries, is in for a rough patch, but they’ll make it through. So far, the ministry has not reduced funding for the orphanages in the field and they plan to keep it that way.

As to the future of this blog, I will probably begin writing on broader topics having to do with the health of the world’s children. As for me, if anyone needs a place to park a big semi truck loaded with cash, I know just the place.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

6 Responses to “Stupid Economy Cost Me My Job!”

  1. Jeez, I’m sorry man. Do you have anything in the works job-wise? Something will come along, I’m sure. You’re bright, motivated, smart, good-lookin’…

    And hey, Stay-At-Home-Dad is an honorable profession as well. I’ve been in that field for 16 months.

    On an unrelated note, have you seen the movie Chalk? I think you’d appreciated it immensely.

  2. YES! I watched Chalk with another teacher friend of mine, and we loved it. Our wives weren’t as impressed, but oh well. We thought it was hilarious.

  3. Ken DeWitt Says:

    Mark,

    I’m really sorry to hear you have lost your job. We’ll be praying for you to find another that will use your talents and provide and income for your family.

  4. Your sister who looks up to her Little Brother! Says:

    Many times what we think is the worst thing possible, ends up being the best thing within His plan. Many times God has to empty our hands before He can fill them with something bigger and better. I believe God has something bigger and better for you. God’s Kids has been a wonderful training ground for your next assignment. Tampa’s job market is still looking good. 🙂

  5. If I see that semi, I will send it your way. 🙂

  6. hi mark, i don’t think i’ve seen this site of your before. Good on you. I hope you are now happily employed once again. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

